September 12, 2012

Preseason Prognostications, Part I

A month before the start of practice for the 2012-12 men's basketball season, the first college basketball preview magazine hit the newsstands. Lindy's Sports College Basketball is the initial such publication available and provides analysis of all 340 Division I teams.

Lindy's puts The Summit League at No. 18 in its rankings of the 31 conferences. The magazine tabs South Dakota State as the league champion and Nate Wolters as its Player of the Year. Wolters is also listed as the nation's No. 10 point guard.

@summithoops held a "Tweetdown" of the nine Summit League teams and the all-league and honor roll selections as chosen by Lindy's. A quick synopsis is below.


1) South Dakota State
2) North Dakota State

3) Oakland
4) Western Illinois
6) Fort Wayne
7) Kansas City
8) South Dakota
9) Omaha

     1st Team: Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Ceola Clark III, Western Illinois; Frank Gaines, Fort Wayne; Taylor Braun,  North Dakota State; Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State.
     2nd Team: Travis Bader, Oakland; Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Ian Chiles, IUPUI; Terell Parks, Western Illinois; Marshall Bjorklund, North Dakota State.

Player of the Year: Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Newcomer of the Year: Duke Mondy, Oakland

Honor Roll
Best Shooter: Travis Bader, Oakland
Best Rebounder: Terell Parks, Western Illinois
Best Playmaker: Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Best Defender: Ceola Clark III, Western Illinois
Most Versatile: Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Best NBA Prospect: Nate Wolters, South Dakota State

To read the complete scouting reports for each of The Summit League's nine teams, pick up a copy of Lindy's Sports College Basketball 2012-13 at your local newsstand or purchase online at

No comments:

Post a Comment