July 20, 2012

USD's Huber Honored by SDCCTFCA

South Dakota women's track and field coach Lucky Huber has been named the 2012 South Dakota Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association (SDCCTFCA) College Coach of the Year. The award was given out as part of the South Dakota High School Coaches Association Clinic Wednesday in Aberdeen, S.D.

Huber, who is entering his 19th season as the Coyote women's track coach in 2012-13, received the honor after three Coyote women's athletes earned All-American honors at the NCAA National Championships in June.

July 19, 2012

OU's Francis Participates in NCAA Mock Selection Exercise

Having led the Oakland women’s basketball team to a pair of  NCAA Tournament appearances, head coach Beckie Francis knows what it takes to get her team into the Big Dance. However, on Monday and Tuesday she got an even better look at how the process works as a member of a mock selection committee at the NCAAHeadquarters.

The members work in teams of two to represent the 10 members of the Division I Women’s Basketball Selection Committee. The coaches are briefed and given the automatic bids before starting the process of selecting which teams will receive at-large bids. The coaches follow the same format that the real committee uses in March and once they’ve selected the at-large bids they must seed the teams from one-to-64 before the first day is completed.  

July 17, 2012

Kansas City’s Hall Named Officer of Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association

Kansas City Director of Athletics Tim Hall was named an officer of the Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association on Tuesday, taking the role of Treasurer for the 2012-13 term. Hall is in his sixth year directing Kangaroos athletics. 

Oakland Director of Athletics Tracy Huth was added to the Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association Executive Committee, giving The Summit League two representatives on the officers and executive committee.